The Uptown Catz @ DJ...
Last post by Joseph Breitenfeld
29-02-2024 06:55 PM
0 Replies

Random Member Photos

Closed Thread
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia

Smile In ear monitoring

Is anyone here using an in ear monitoring UHF system, as Im sick and tired of carrying my 15in powered fold back Monitor around, If so I'd like some advise on.. "Which one" Also
    Remembering that I don't have a spare 2G's to spend on a Shure System...Cheers...

Re: In ear monitoring

Hi Cous.

'In Ear' monitoring is very good however the drawback is you lose connection with the crowd. From my experience and those I have worked with, this method of fold back is better in the studio.
    Cheers, JM

Connection with the Crowd?? Im a Drummer for christ sake what connection do I have hahahaha..
    Seriously I'm using a hard wired system now Jack, a little 2 chan head phone amp and some serious buds, and sometimes only one bud, works fine but I'm restricted I move this way or that way I rip things out, thats why I would love to try wireless....

Thumbs up Re: In ear monitoring

Frank,...I've been singing for quite some time now and always find it hard to hear PA foldbacks, I've just purchased Shure PSM200 wireless in ear monitors from the USA (you can land them here new for $550- the best muso deal I could get here was $1050- ) and they work great.. I only had to buy a stepdown transformer for converting AUS to USA volts at $30-00.
    Sound quality and level control is awesome, with a second channel allowing for other signals you want either from the mixer or direct.
    I hear enough stage sound with the earplugs in, so I use them as my vocal foldback.
    I recommend them to anyone who needs that extra foldback...TallBoy

Hey Frank

It might be a pain in the butt lugging around the speaker. But while the UHF gear is handy, be aware of the health and safety issues too.